The settings tab is used configure the general OSM options and workflow settings. Be sure to review how each option works before deploying a network to understand how they impact the OSM user workflow. 


Settings should be configured when a network is provisioned but should not be altered once a network is operational since it will impact the OSM user workflow and interface. Caution should be taken when making settings changes to existing operational networks.


NOTE: The per site customizable logo options are no longer available in OSM.

NOTE: All settings changes will not take affect for currently logged in OSM users and administers. The next time the OSM user or administrator logs into OSM the changes will be visible.



Approval & Ownership Settings


Message Ownership

The approval & ownership settings enable OSM administers to customize the rules and workflow for OSM messages and templates.

As a best practice, these options should only be altered when provisioning a network. Changes to these settings on a live running network will alter what the OSM users see and their workflow for creating and publishing messages. When the Message Ownership option is enabled, messages created by an OSM user will be owned by that user.  


A message that’s owned by a user means that only the owner or OSM Administrators can make changes to the message, regardless of the access to the message by other users. The message owner can be changed only by the current message owner or OSM administrators. OSM Users and Administrators can browse to the message (provided they already have access to the site), then alter the message ownership by clicking on the “Edit Metadata” button. However, once an OSM user changes the ownership of a message to another user, they will no longer have access to edit the message or change the ownership again. A message can only be owned by one user.  




Approval Workflow


The approval workflow option enables OSM administrators to enable or disable the message approval workflow. When this option is enabled all messages must be approved by a user with the OSM Approver role before the messages can be distributed to a site for playback. This option is either enabled or disabled for ALL sites within the network.


When the approval workflow is enable all message must be approved before they are distributed to the site(s) for playback. The message can be created and submitted for approval, or created, scheduled and then submitted for approval. 


Once the messages are submitted for approval, the OSM approver either accepts or rejects the message. Any message that is accepted will be distributed (depending on the publishing mode) to the sites if it has already been schedule. If the message hasn’t yet been schedule, it can be scheduled and distributed, after publishing, to the site right away without any further approval required. Alternatively, if a message is rejected the OSM user can edit and re-submit the message for approval.




Altering the Approval Settings on Live Networks


Approval Workflow User Roles

If the approval workflow option is enabled for an existing live network, all currently published messages will be assumed as already approved. If the option is disabled for an existing live network, all currently unapproved messages will be assumed as approved and messages will be publishable to sites. Enabling or disabling the approval workflow for an existing network is NOT recommended. This option should only be altered when the network is being provisioned.

 

When using the approval workflow there are two types of OSM users required. The standard OSM User, which is assigned the OSM User Role, who creates and schedules the messages (based on the templates) and submits those messages for approval. 


A second user known as the OSM Approver, which is assigned the OSM Approval Role, then reviews and approves or rejects the messages. The OSM approver has the ability to approve messages only for the sites to which the user has been assigned in the Admin->Users tab.  


NOTE: In order for an OSM approver to see the messages submitted for approval in the Approval tab, the user must be subscribed to the “OSM Message Awaiting Approval” notification within EnGage Content Manager.

 

All roles are added to users from within the EnGage Content Manager under the Management->Users tab.


NOTE: The OSM Approver can also be an OSM Administrator, or not. Alternatively the OSM Approver role can be assigned to a standard OSM user. The assignment of roles to the users within the network is up to the decision of the network operator. Having multiple OSM approvers is also an available option. However, if two OSM approvers are logged into OSM and approve and reject the same messages at the same moment, errors may be seen within OSM.  


In order for an OSM approver to see the messages submitted for approval in the Approval tab, the user must be subscribed to the “OSM Message Awaiting Approval” notification within EnGage Content Manager. 


All roles are added to users from within the EnGage Content Manager under the Management->Users tab.